You are here

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction 2018



The most prestigious non-fiction prize in the UK

Submissions for the Baillie Gifford Prize, 2018, are now open. Publishers have until 1 June 2018 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2017 and 31 October 2018. You can find entry criteria and rules here and make your submission at

The Baillie Gifford Prize aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

Formerly known as The Samuel Johnson Prize (1999 – 2015) it is the most prestigious non-fiction prize in the UK, worth £30,000 to the winner.

The 2017 winner:

  • How to Survive A Plague, David France (Picador)

Read more here


Latest News

The judging panel for the Baillie Gifford Prize...
Fiammetta Rocco, culture correspondent at The...
How to Survive a Plague
David France has been named the winner of the ...
The shortlist for the £30,000 Baillie Gifford...