You are here


Error message

The page you requested does not exist. For your convenience, a search was performed using the query years.

Page not found

Search results

  1. Making Haste from Babylon (Random House – The Bodley Head)

    ... a warning of doom or a promise of salvation. Two years later, as the Pilgrims prepared to sail across the Atlantic on board the ...

    Digital - 18.05.16

  2. Philippe Sands’ East West Street wins The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction, 2016

    ... along with my mother, left Vienna in the course of the years that followed. And then it’s a detective story about the origins of ... been involved in many of the most important cases of recent years, including Pinochet, Congo, Yugoslavia, Rwanda, Iraq and Guantanamo. His ...

    James-Douglas - 15.11.16

  3. Anne Applebaum to chair judges of The 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction

    ... a journalist based in London and New York, spending fifteen years covering finance and technology before returning to science in 2008. As ... Hunger, This is England, The Iron Lady, Shame and Twelve Years a Slave. During her earlier stewardship of Channel 4 Drama, Ross ...

    Digital - 13.06.16

  4. Philippe Sands interview

    ... about how the writing of East West Street took seven years and spanned twelve countries. This is part of our series of ... The writing of East West Street , which took seven years and spanned twelve countries, involved: many journeys, often to obscure ...

    James-Douglas - 13.10.16

  5. Margo Jefferson interview

    ... some formal, some not; notes I’d been taking for years; diaries I’d scribbled in for years. Which non-fiction authors do you admire? So many. This ...

    James-Douglas - 13.10.16

  6. Hisham Matar interview

    ... of The Return was a trip he made back to Libya after 33 years of not being able to go there and that he thinks in books rather than ... it was a trip I made back to my old country, Libya, after 33 years of not being able to go there. Returning to the place of my forefathers ...

    James-Douglas - 16.10.16

  7. Professor Chris Rapley


    James-Douglas - 25.07.16

  8. Sir Richard Eyre


    James-Douglas - 25.07.16

  9. About

    ... Historically, The NCR Book Award for Non-Fiction ran for 10 years from 1987 to 1997 and The Samuel Johnson Prize launched in 1999 taking ... and the prize organisers aim to build it over the next five years into the pre-eminent non-fiction book award in the world. ...

    Digital - 26.05.16

  10. Tale of Everest and adventure, war and risk wins 2012 Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction

    ... Wade Davis tells story of fellow explorer George Mallory 90 years after the first British attempt to conquer Everest  Adventurer ... is a major work of history and adventure. The result of ten years’ research and writing, the book sheds new light on Mallory’s ...

    Digital - 20.05.16