Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here


Craig Brown is announced as the 2020 winner

The 2020 Shortlist

The 2020 Longlist

Hallie Rubenhold wins the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize with The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper


Serhii Plokhy wins the 2018 Baillie Gifford Prize with Chernobyl: History of a Tragedy


David France was named the winner of the £30,000 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction for How to Survive a Plague in 2017


The 2017 shortlist


The twelve titles on the 2017 longlist chosen by the judging panel are as bold as they are diverse, ranging from literary biography and history to popular science, memoir and polemic


Watch our interview with 2016 winner Philippe Sands


Philippe Sands won the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction. Accepting the award, Britain’s most prestigious for non-fiction books, he announced that he and fellow shortlisted author and friend Hisham Matar had pledged that if either of them won, they would share the prize and donate it to refugee charities.


Here's what our 2016 judges had to say on the shortlist 


Watch our judges discuss the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction 2016 longlist!


We caught up with Steve Silberman, author of Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity, to see how it feels to have won the 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize!


2015 Chair of Judges Anne Applebaum announces the winner of the 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction: Steve Silberman for Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity.


 We caught up with Helen Macdonald, author of H is for Hawk, to see how it feels to have won the 2014 Samuel Johnson Prize!