Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here


What is eligible for The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction?

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction is open to books in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Books published in English by writers of any nationality are eligible for the 2016 prize, provided they were published in the UK between 1 November 2015 and 31 October 2016.

How much is The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction worth to the winning author?

The winning author of the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction receives £30,000 and each of the shortlisted authors receives £1,000.

Who owns the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction?

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction is owned by Samuel Johnson Prize Ltd.  It is overseen by a Steering Committee and administered by Four Colman Getty. The Steering Committee is made up of Stuart Proffitt, Chair (Publishing Director, Penguin), Toby Mundy (Prize Director), Antony Beevor (historian and author), Mark Bell (Commissioning Editor, BBC Arts), Caroline Daniel (Editor, FT Weekend), Peter Florence (Director of the Hay Festivals),  Dotti Irving (Chief Executive, Four Colman Getty), Lord King of Lothbury (Mervyn King, former Governor of the Bank of England), James Naughtie (BBC News Books Editor), Peter Straus (literary agent, Rogers, Coleridge and White) and Martin Taylor (Financial Stability Committee, Bank of England).

Who selects the judges?

The judges are chosen by the Board of The Samuel Johnson Prize.

Who are the previous winners of the prize?

Previous winners are: Stalingrad by Antony Beevor (1999), Berlioz: Servitude and Greatness by David Cairns (2000), The Third Reich: A New History by Michael Burleigh (2001), Peacemakers: The Paris Peace Conference of 1919 by Margaret Macmillan (2002), Pushkin: A biography by T.J. Binyon (2003), Stasiland by Anna Funder (2004), Like a Fiery Elephant by Jonathan Coe (2005),1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare by James Shapiro (2006), Imperial Life in the Emerald City by Rajiv Chandrasekaran (2007), The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale (2008), Leviathan or The Whale by Philip Hoare (2009), Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick (2010), Mao’s Great Famine by Frank Dikötter (2011), Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory and the conquest of Everest by Wade Davis (2012), The Pike, by Lucy Hughes-Hallett (2013), H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (2014), Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and How to Think Smarter About People Who Think Differently (2015).