Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judges for 2022

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judges for 2022

Caroline Sanderson, writer and Associate Editor of The Bookseller, will chair the Baillie Gifford Prize judging panel for the 2022 awards.

Caroline Sanderson is joined by writer and science journalist Laura Spinney, critic and writer for The Observer Rachel Cooke, BBC journalist and presenter Clive Myrie, the author and New Yorker writer Samanth Subramanian, and the critic and broadcaster Georgina Godwin.

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for this year’s prize. Publishers have until 17 June 2022 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2021 and 31 October 2022.  More information about submitting books can be found at

Caroline Sanderson says: "The Baillie Gifford Prize has always provided a touchstone of excellence in my more than 20 years of championing outstanding non-fiction as a books journalist. I'm honoured to be chairing the 2022 Prize at a time when creative, enquiring, and authoritative non-fiction has arguably never been as important, and I'm excited at the prospect of discussing and rewarding the best of this year's publishing alongside such an expert panel of writers, broadcasters and critics.”

Toby Mundy, director of the Baillie Gifford Prize says: “I’m thrilled that we have another stellar group to judge the Bailie Gifford Prize, 2022. With such a giddying range of interests and expertise, I can’t wait to see the books that Caroline and her team choose.”

The winner of the 2022 prize will be announced on 17 November, following the shortlist announcement in October at the Cheltenham Literature Festival and longlist in September.

The prize aims to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The 2022 Awards Dinner is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.


Caroline Sanderson, writer and Associate Editor...
Tonight Patrick Radden Keefe has been named the...
A sweeping, panoramic shortlist that ranges...
Patrick Radden Keefe, author of ‘Empire of Pain...