Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judging panel and opens submissions

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judging panel and opens submissions

The judging panel for the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction, 2018, is announced today. The Economist’s culture correspondent, Fiammetta Rocco, chair of judges, is joined by Stephen Bush, journalist and political commentator; Susan Brigden, historian; Anne-Marie Imafidon, mathematician and campaigner and Nigel Warburton, philosopher.

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for this year’s prize. Publishers have until 1 June 2018 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2017 and 31 October 2018.  More information about submitting books can be found here.

Prize Director Toby Mundy said:

“This year’s line-up of judges is as formidable as any that has come before it, well-qualified for the gargantuan task of choosing from around 200 titles to find the best non-fiction book of the year.”

The winner of the 2018 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction will be announced on Wednesday 14 November at an awards dinner at RIBA generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation. The 2018 longlist will not be announced, while the shortlist will be revealed in October.

David France, who won the 2017 prize for his history of AIDS activism, How to Survive A Plague, will appear at Charleston, Bath and Hay festivals on 25, 26 & 27 May respectively.

The prize aims to recognise and reward the very best in high quality non-fiction, and is open to books in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Authors of any nationality whose work is published in the UK in English in any given year, are eligible. 


Sunday Times literary editor Andrew Holgate...
Bestselling author and veteran journalist Craig...
The shortlist for the £50,000 Baillie Gifford...
Kate Summerscale, author of The Haunting of...