Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here

Judges announced for the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Judges announced for the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The judging panel for the new 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction, formerly the Samuel Johnson Prize, is announced today, Monday 23 May. Leading economist Stephanie Flanders, chair of judges, is joined by Philip Ball, science writer and author; Jonathan Derbyshire, executive comment editor of the Financial Times; Dr Sophie Ratcliffe, scholar, writer and literary critic and Rohan Silva, co-founder of the social enterprise, Second Home.

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for the prize and the launch of the new website. Publishers have until 1 July 2016 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2015 and 31 October 2016.  More information about submitting books can be found at

Toby Mundy, Prize Director, says: “We have a fantastic group of judges for this year's prize. With their varied backgrounds and expertise, they are well equipped to tackle the wide range of books that the prize attracts, from current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts."

The winner of the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction 2016 will be announced on Tuesday 15 November, following the shortlist announcement in October and longlist announcement in September.

The winner will receive £30,000, an increase from the £20,000 previously awarded, and each of the shortlisted authors will receive £1,000.

Steve Silberman, whose Neurotribes was the first popular science book to win the Samuel Johnson Prize in 2015, will deliver the Baillie Gifford Lecture at Hay Festival on Saturday 28 May.

The 2016 Awards Dinner is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.


Caroline Sanderson, writer and Associate Editor...
Tonight Patrick Radden Keefe has been named the...
A sweeping, panoramic shortlist that ranges...
Patrick Radden Keefe, author of ‘Empire of Pain...