Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here

The Samuel Johnson Prize 2002

The Samuel Johnson Prize 2002

The Winner

Peacemakers (John Murray)

This book brings together the personalities, ideals and prejudices of the people who shaped the Paris Peace Conference of 1919, after ‘the war to end all wars’. Macmillan argues that the peacemakers – at its heart the three great leaders Woodrow Wilson, Lloyd George and Clemenceau - have been unfairly made scapegoats for the mistakes of those who came later; it offers a prismatic view of the moment when much of the modern world was first sketched out.

Winning Author

Margaret MacMillan

Margaret MacMillan is a historian and professor at the University of Oxford, where she is Warden of St Antony's College. She is former provost of Trinity College and professor of history at the University of Toronto and previously at Ryerson University. A leading expert on history and international relations, MacMillan is a frequent commentator in the media.